Begin at the Beginning

52 Photos Project

My beginning:  holding a baby chick while this baby lamb sat on my lap drinking from a bottle that my son was holding.

Visiting a farm for their baby animals weekend was a perfect peaceful beginning to spring. Every memory I have – childhood and adulthood – involves seeing baby animals that are partitioned off through an observation glass or behind a fence.

I’ve always wondered what it would be like to hold a baby chick and pet a baby lamb. I’ve always wondered how it would feel to be allowed to get close, without a partition, without a glass.

Now I know.

I would have carried the baby chick all day if I could have. I would have sat in the hay feeding baby lambs all day if I could have. Sitting with a lamb on my lap, a chick in my hands, and my son learning to feed a baby animal with a bottle of milk, this moment is one that helps me to remember that I don’t have to settle for seeing things from behind a glass or from afar.

There are moments to find. There are beginnings.

At this moment, I didn’t want to be anywhere else, with anyone else, doing anything else.

This is where I begin.

4 responses to “Begin at the Beginning

  1. Beautiful beginnings…
    Thank you for linking up this week 🙂

  2. Hi Carrie! Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and sharing your thoughts. I’m so glad you did. I’m I was inspired to stop by yours because I loved the words you shared about not having to settle for things. I’m glad you got your wish to get close to the animals, close enough to hold them and that you got to share that with your son. I hope you get many more moments like this.

    • Me too! Thank you Deb. I plan to continue with “beginnings” by seeking out many more moments like this. I hope each one feels as calm and peaceful as watching a baby lamb drink from a bottle and my son right there with me. Thank you for linking back.
      -Carrie

Leave a comment

Past Thoughts

Find my thoughts

May 2012
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Thought Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other subscribers