Let the Sunshine In

There are moments when the sun shines in and I know I am in a place where there is light, and love, and hope.

There is a poem I have loved for a long time.

Comes the Dawn

After awhile you learn the subtle difference

Between holding a hand and  chaining a soul.

And you learn that love doesn’t mean leaning,

And company doesn’t mean security,

And you begin to learn that kisses aren’t contracts

And presents aren’t promises.

And you begin to accept your defeats

With your head up and your eyes open.

With the grace of a woman, not the grief of a child.

And you learn to build  all your roads today

Because tomorrow’s ground is too uncertain for  plans,

And futures have a way of falling down in mid-flight.

After awhile  you learn

That even sunshine burns if you get too much.

So you plant your own  garden and decorate your own soul,

Instead of waiting for someone to bring  you flowers.

And you learn that you really can endure…

That you really are  strong

And you really do have worth.

And you learn and learn and  learn ….

With every goodbye you learn.

Author Unknown

2 responses to “Let the Sunshine In

  1. Bonnie

    Thank you for sharing this poem. Just last month, I read it for the first time, a copy of it handwritten by my grandma. It deeply touched me then, just as it does in this moment. Again, thank you.

    • You’re welcome! I can’t remember when or where I first came across this poem. I love it alot, especially in a moment when I just need to read something hopeful about pushing through a loss.

Leave a comment

Past Thoughts

Find my thoughts

May 2012
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Thought Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other subscribers